Posted on

Nobel in Chemistry Given for Work on Lithium-Ion Batteries


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to three scientists for their work developing lithium-ion batteries—power sources that touched off a technological revolution that gave rise to cellphones and electric cars.

German-born engineer John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham of the U.K. and Akira Yoshino of Japan shared the 9 million Swedish kronor ($906,000) prize awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.


Source: WSJD