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Top Tips to Increase Website Conversions

Measuring website conversion is actually a very simple formula. All you need to do is look at the percent of visitors to your website that complete one of your desired actions or goals. Growth-hacking your company takes place as you learn to read your website conversion rates and optimize for the growth. Practice these five practical tactics for improving your website conversion rates.

For example, if your desired action was Complete a Form, then each time a form was completed that would be considered a conversion. The conversion formula is calculated as a percentage. You need to, over a set period of time, take the number of goals or actions completed and divide that number against the total number of visitors.

Website Conversion Rate Formula

Total Visitors: 1000
Total Form Completions: 10
10 / 1000 = 0.1
0.1 x 100 = 1%

Total Website Conversions = 1%

Website conversion rate — what does it mean?

  • Improving navigation.
  • Conversation forms.
  • Setting expectations.
  • Requesting small commitments.
  • Use tools and practical examples and find what works for you.

Why Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO) is important.

The first thing you have to consider is if you already have the traffic coming to your site, why not optimize your site to convert the traffic better? The other option is to spend time and money developing SEO, Social or Paid strategies and campaigns to get new traffic to the site. Remember that you still need to convert your website traffic. Converting website traffic is where CRO can be very beneficial for your company.

We are sharing some of the top tips to improving website conversions for your site that will enhance your business.

1) Active Language on Buttons.

You must make sure you get your calls to action right. It is one of the most important considerations for your website. Typically, calls to action appear on most pages so it is important that they deliver the right messages in the right tone to persuade visitors to act upon them.

Most websites use passive or generic language on call to action buttons. However, using active language will greatly improve engagement rates, which in turn will lead to more sales.

Have a look at these examples:

  1. Instead of using “READ MORE” try using “VIEW PRODUCT DETAILS.”
  2. Instead of using “STORE FINDER” try using “WHERE TO BUY.”
  3. Instead of “PRODUCT CATEGORIES” try using “DISCOVER MORE PRODUCTS.”
  4. Instead of using “SUBMIT” or “SEND” try using “SEND MY MESSAGE.”

The idea here is to give the user a snippet of what to expect, which increases the chances of the user clicking through.

Black and Decker conducted a very interesting study where they experimented with active language on their primary buttons within their product pages. They experienced a 10% increase in click rates simply by experimenting with the language used on buttons in their product pages.

VIEW THE BLACK AND DECKER CASE STUDY

Google endorsed the approach directly and created an entire topic in its Lead Gen UX Playbook dedicated to the topic created by Black and Decker.

In the guide created by Google, they recommend site owners avoid using generic calls to action and suggest that by making calls to action more descriptive, click-through rates can significantly improve.

According to Google, there are a number of benefits that will result from a descriptive language on buttons and call to actions:

  1. Links become more accessible to the user
  2. Links become more persuasive to the user
  3. Links become more enticing to the user
  4. Users will feel more confident when navigating through pages
  5. Keywords in the descriptive text will help improve your search engine optimization.

2) Request Smaller Commitments.

In Google’s Lead Gen Playbook they suggest that rushing a prospective customer to making a commitment comes at a higher risk of losing the perspective.

They give the following advice:

  • If you can delay commitment then do it
  • Remember that most people are commitment-averse

Consider that your visitor might be interested in your product however they may not be ready to buy just yet. In a consultative situation, asking for a small commitment can be very beneficial; in particular a service company or a product that is more expensive and requires more consideration.

If you consider this alongside using an active language you will be creating a less intimidating proposition and environment for your prospective customers.

For example, if you changed the call to action of your service from BUY NOW to SPEAK TO AN ADVISOR or ARRANGE A FREE CONSULTATION you are reassuring your prospective and demonstrating that there is still a step before commitment.

A really useful case study was completed by Oskar Zabik in which he changed the main CTA to ‘CONTACT SELLER” from “BUY NOW.” In this test, he experienced a 73% increase in conversion rates. View the Oskar Zabik Case Study.

3) Focus on where you currently convert best.

Call To Action Example
Note this prominent and well-designed link to the first stage of starting a new digital service inquiry. The masterfully delivered experience is by HUEMOR.

Now, of course, not all conversions are made online. In 2019, one of the Optima clients manufactured wooden toys. We discovered that of all the customers that came to its shop to look at their toys, they had an 80% conversion rate.

We decided to develop their site with a conversion strategy of pushing potential customers to visit the store with a secondary goal of buying online.

The action resulted in a sharp increase in new customers visiting the shop, increasing footfall significantly and a much higher rate of sales.

4) Set Expectations in Contact Forms.

Good Inquiry Form Example

The contact form is the primary route of contact for most service-based businesses. For some prospective customers, the act of filling out an inquiry form can be a big commitment which is why it is important to remove as many barriers as possible from the process. You can achieve this by reassuring the prospective about what will happen next; which you can see demonstrated in the example above.

In this example, the forms demonstrate to the prospective exactly what will happen after the form completion:

  • The form removes a barrier by explaining what will happen next.
  • The form sets out expectations which result in higher quality leads.
  • The form gives higher opportunity for clearly defined messages in the contact form itself.
  • It is also good practice to offer the prospective an alternative method of contact.
  • Generally, with the form, you’ll have a direct contact number is offered too.
  • The form appears more friendly and less intimidating.
  • The key to driving more conversions is being friendly, and less intimidating.

The tone should be conversational and natural which generally leads to higher conversion.

5) Expose Key Navigation.

Similarly to active language on buttons, it is important to ensure website visitors understand clickable options quickly and easily. You need to avoid forcing confusion and guesswork for your visitors.

Let’s say your website sells a product online; by displaying as many of the main product categories in your main website navigation as opposed to just putting “SHOP” with a drop-down, you will significantly improve navigation and conversion opportunities.

It is good practice to expose primary actions all the time, even on mobile where real estate is at a premium.

Conclusion

The Optima company is all about Digital Innovation, Digital Governance, and Digital Strategy. We work to help our partners achieve brand success in competitive markets across Australia, New Zealand, and Asia.

Optima is one of Australia’s go-to Digital Agencies and a leading Digital Agency Sunshine Coast providing a level of digital creativity and digital leadership that companies require when competing in saturated markets and competitive industries.

Anthony Godley

Award Winning Digital Strategist & Marketeer

We are all about Digital Innovation, Digital Governance & Digital Strategy | helping our partners achieve brand success in competitive markets across Australia, New Zealand & Asia.
Optima is one of Australia’s GO TO Digital Agencies providing a level of digital creativity and digital leadership that companies require when competing in saturated markets and competitive industries.
Optima | Digital Marketing Leaders across Australia & New Zealand
www.optimatech.com.au

Source: ReadWrite

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9 Ways to Refresh Your Company’s Image Without Spending a Fortune

If you run a business, then you know that it’s not always smooth sailing. Your customers may not be responding to your offer as positively as they once did or your “high-seasons” are few and far between. Here are nine ways to refresh your company’s image without spending a fortune.

Have you’ve started to rethink ways to refresh your entire business?

You may have ventured into new markets and products and services. Do you want to attract a different target demographic than what you are focusing on today?

If any of this sounds like you, it may be time for a partial rebrand or redesign. Luckily, contrary to popular belief, rebranding doesn’t have to cost you a fortune.

company image
9 affordable ways to refresh your company’s image.

1. Adding a “Human Touch” to the Messaging Language

Many companies try to be too formal with their leads and customers. To some extent, they’re right to try sounding profession through marketing copy, content and other social media interactions. However, this professionalism can backfire and compel others to distance from you if you start to come off as too buttoned-up.

Instead, try to inject personality into your brand. Use a more down-to-earth tone when communicating customers online, and don’t be afraid to joke around or add a personal touch, to remind them that there are people behind the brand.

2. Introducing a New Product or Service

When your business starts to lose traction in the market, one of the first things that may come to mind is to dramatically tear it all down and start from scratch. Here’s the thing: You don’t have to cause mass destruction to your business if things aren’t going well. Not only is it completely rebranding expensive, but it’s also unnecessary.

Instead, think about rolling out a new product or service in the market. This can give your brand a fresh makeover without confusing your existing customers with an entire change — one that would come with a complete rebrand.

3. Logo Redesigning

Your company’s logo is the most important part of your overall brand. By simply redesigning the logo, you can refresh your company’s image.

If you’re concerned about the costs involved, then you’ll be happy to know there are cheaper and more affordable options available than hiring an experienced graphics designer.

For instance, you can find freelancers on websites like freelancer.com or fiverr.com that will design an attractive logo for a little as $10-20. Alternatively, you can also create it with a logo maker yourself.

There are many online programs that are highly advanced, with technologies like AI and machine learning that you can use to create unique logos in a matter of minutes.

4. Exploring Other Marketing Channels

Sometimes, just by changing the medium through which you connect with your target demographic can give your brand the boost you want.

For instance, if you are mainly focusing on social media marketing and PPC, then maybe you can also consider email marketing. Besides, email marketing is one of the most affordable forms of digital marketing and offers amazing ROI, too.

5. Getting Help from Influencers

Did you know that influencer marketing has become quite effective?

Many big and small brands have started to recognize the benefits of partnerships with popular influencers. You, too, can readjust your marketing strategy in a way that encompasses influencer marketing.

The right influencers can take your business to the right people, and they can also bring their personality to help redefine your brand identity.

6. Improving Photography

Many organizations spend a ton of money on their logos, marketing copy, product design, etc. However, they overlook the impact of images on branding. The reality is that you can rebrand your enterprise by simply improving the quality of the photos you take of your products, business space, and other valued photos.

If you take the photos yourself or use someone else who doesn’t have formal experience in photography, then its’ strongly recommended that you hire a professional photographer who will take the quality photos your business and new branding deserve.

7. Changing the Style Guide and Tagline

Every company that has a brand must also have a style guide that directs the marketers and branding executives. These guides give advice and direction to use certain colors, fonts, and icons for all online entities that are related to the business.

You can modify this guide to take your brand in a new direction; or, change the tagline of your company to mark the shift into a new venture. The best part of these changes is that they don’t cost a lot.

8. Trying Different Messaging

Messaging is at the heart of your brand, and it simply refers to the ideas you want to get across to your customers and leads. A message can be conveyed through different types of channels — videos, blogs, PRs, and many additional avenues.

However, your message might not be speaking to your customers. You’ll want to determine if the tone of the voice your using or the values behind what you’re communicating to your audience are hitting your target.

The fix is a simple one: Change the message if you don’t think it’s working for you. Pivot quickly and move through different branding tactics — like using the new images and a new tone of voice. Ask advice from business individuals who know, and try new recommendations.

9. Building a New Website

It’s no exaggeration that your business website is just like a virtual store or office, meaning your customers and clients will judge your business based on the quality of your website. If you want to rebrand — then you may want to think about a website update or redesign.

For this recommendation, too, you’ll want to hire a professional for the job. A professional can give you concrete guidelines for what is working right now, and what isn’t. You’ll see many options that will spark your creativity and move you forward in your refreshed image.

Conclusion

You don’t have to burn a ton of cash during your redesign and rebranding. Don’t let the thought of rebranding and redesign stop you from making your website a place to showcase your product and service. Decide quickly what you are going to do — and move forward with your best efforts and make your website a delight for your customers.

Which one of these affordable ways are you going to implement first?

Deanna Ritchie

Deanna Ritchie

Managing Editor at ReadWrite

Deanna is the Managing Editor at ReadWrite. Previously she worked as the Editor in Chief for Startup Grind and has over 20+ years of experience in content development.

Source: ReadWrite